Yakima County first in WA to ban county income tax

Sep 13, 2021

The local income tax ban resistance is growing. We now have our first county joining the movement. Yakima County Commissioners adopted a county income tax ban on August 17. They join seven cities that have also acted, soon to be eight. The DuPont City Council is considering a resolution at its September 14 meeting.

Here is the county income tax ban resolution adopted by Yakima County.

One county and seven Washington cities have now acted to ban a local income tax including Battle Ground, Granger, Kennewick, Moses Lake, Spokane, Spokane Valley, Union Gap and Yakima County. Yakima voters this November will consider a charter amendment to ban a local income tax. It sounds like DuPont will also soon join the local income tax resistance.

Other cities and counties should do the same and signal to citizens and businesses that they will protect their economic competitive advantage by prohibiting the imposition of a local income tax.