

Washington State Legislature

April 20, 2020

WCCSEO PO Box 43120 Olympia, WA 98504-3120

To the Washington Citizens' Commission on Salaries for Elected Officials:

We are writing to ask the Commission reconvene to reconsider the elected official pay increases scheduled to take effect July 1st.

These are unprecedented times. In the last month, more than 630,000 unemployment insurance claims have been filed, over 99% of which have been private sector employees.

Simply put, the world is greatly changed from a year ago when these scheduled salary increases were put in place. We think the best course of action is for the Commission to recognize this changed reality and reconvene to adjust those increases. It is our recommendation that the Commission revise the schedule to forego all salary increases set to take effect July 1st.

We are all in this together. At a time when so many are unemployed, it makes no sense for elected officials to be granted a raise. The foregoing of scheduled increases would allow the savings to be directed to higher and better priorities of protecting programs for the most needy in our state.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

Senator John Braun 20th Legislative District

Senator Curtis King 14th Legislative District

Senator Christine Rolfes 23rd Legislative District

Thank R Bara

Senator Sharon Brown 8th Legislative District

pristine Rolfles Mark I. thousand

Senator Mark Schoesler 9th Legislative District

Senator Jeff Holy 6th Legislative District

Senator Hans Zeiger 25th Legislative District

Keith L. Wagones

Senator Keith Wagoner 39th Legislative District

Rondi WBecker

Senator Randi Becker 2nd Legislative District

Senator Ron Muzzall

10th Legislative District

Senator. Judy Warnick 13th Legislative District

Jusy alamos Jim Honey ford

Senator Jim Honeyford 15th Legislative District

Mike Padden

Senator Mike Padden

4th Legislative District

Senator Steve O'Ban 28th Legislative District

Uniter Clevela

Senator Annette Cleveland 49th Legislative District

Rep. Mike Volz 6th Legislative District

Rouch E Mungall Rynda Wils

Rep. Richard DeBolt 20th Legislative District

17th Legislative District

Senator Lynda Wilson

Rep. Jim Walsh 19th Legislative District

(- (-

Rep. Chris Corry 14th Legislative District

Dichikraft

Rep. Vickie Kraft 17th Legislative District

Bradley A Klyppert

Rep. Brad Klippert 8th Legislative District

Hickard illing

Rep. Mike Pellicciotti 30th Legislative District

Jina Oranell

Rep. Tina Orwall 33rd Legislative District

Rep. Tana Senn 41st Legislative District

Rep. Jesse Johnson 30th Legislative District

Stack Theler

Rep. Gael Tarleton 36th Legislative District

Carolyn Eslice

Rep. Carolyn Eslick 39th Legislative District

Rep. Jeremie Dufault 15th Legislative District

Michelle Calo

Rep. Michelle Caldier 26th Legislative District

Rep. Jenny Graham 6th Legislative District

Forick

Rep. John Lovick 44th Legislative District

M.C. CLAMPON

Rep. Mike Chapman 24th Legislative District

h Stekeleny

Rep. Drew Stokesbary

31st Legislative District

pi E. Black

Rep. Brian Blake 19th Legislative District

Rep. Drew MacEwen 35th Legislative District

Rep. Matt Boehnke 8th Legislative District

Bill Jenkie

Rep. Bill Jenkin 16th Legislative District

0

Rep. Andrew Barkis 2nd Legislative District