

# STATE OF WASHINGTON OFFICE OF GOVERNOR-ELECT JAY INSLEE

# Governor-Elect Jay Inslee Announces Transition Committee

## For Immediate Release November 27, 2012

Seattle – Washington Governor-Elect Jay Inslee today announced the members of his transition committee, who have been asked to advise the Governor-Elect as he fills cabinet positions, builds a staff and turns his campaign agenda into legislative and executive action.

"My administration will be focused on growing Washington's economy, improving education, reducing health care costs and making state government more efficient and more effective," said Governor-Elect Inslee. "The team we've assembled represents both sides of the Cascades, our key industries, and people with experience both inside and outside government. I look forward to their engagement and appreciate their willingness to serve the state."

The 34-member transition committee will be divided into issue-specific work-groups coordinated by transition staff. The committee members were selected for their experience, expertise in their fields, and their ability to bring a fresh perspective to government.

"Washington has a very deep pool of talent," Inslee said. "I want people with great ideas to bring their abilities to state government, and our transition committee is a great start."

#### Members of the transition committee are:

Kirk Adams President and CEO, Lighthouse for the Blind

Ron Allen Chairman, Jamestown S'Kallam Tribe

Someireh Amirfaiz Executive Director, Refugee Women's Alliance

John Begley CEO and President, Harbor Paper

Larry Brown Member, State Board for Community and Technical Colleges

Lisa Brown Former Senate Majority Leader

Brendon Cechovic Executive Director, Washington Conservation Voters
Louise Chernin President and CEO, Greater Seattle Business Assn.

Maud Daudon President and CEO, Seattle Metro Chamber of Commerce



#### STATE OF WASHINGTON

### OFFICE OF GOVERNOR-ELECT JAY INSLEE

Greg Devereux Executive Director, WFSE / AFSCME Council 28

Marty Dickinson Executive Vice President, Sterling Financial Corporation

Kenny Down President and CEO, Blue North Fisheries

Perry England Vice President, MacDonald Miller Facility Solutions Kelly Fox President, Washington State Council of Fire Fighters

Ollie Garrett President, Tabor 100

Mike Gempler Executive Director, Washington Growers' League

Cris Guillen Founder, Assn of WA Hispanic Chambers of Commerce

Kimberly Harris CEO, Puget Sound Energy

Jeff Johnson President, Washington State Labor Council Dr. Gary Kaplan Chairman and CEO, Virginia Health System

Phyllis Gutierrez Kenney Retiring State Representative
Hyeok Kim Executive Director, InterIm CDA
T.D. King Owner, Macnak Construction

Michael Kluse Director, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Mary Lindquist President, Washington Education Association

Ralph Munro Former Secretary of State

Chris Rivera President, Washington Biotechnology and Biomedical Association

David Rolf President, SEIU Local 775

Elaine Rose CEO, Planned Parenthood Votes! Northwest

Orin Smith Regent, University of Washington

Marilyn Strickland Mayor, City of Tacoma
Steve Stuart Commissioner, Clark County
Sue Taoka Executive Vice President, Craft3

Todd Woodard Board Member, Aerospace Futures Alliance

The committee is co-chaired by Dr. Elson Floyd, President of Washington State University; Dr. Mary Alice Heuschel, Superintendent of the Renton School District; and Brad Smith, Vice President at Microsoft.

###